35. Unique Blue cheese dish

If you can’t get behind cheese grits, then are you a real person? I’m not sure. I suppose I’m biased, I am a Girl Raised In The South after all (ha ha…get it…?). But if you don’t like something that’s smothered in cheese and cream, well then I suppose you must really not like it. So prepare yourself, here comes a grits recipe.

Resolution number 35 came to fruition when I realized that I never really do anything exciting with blue cheese. I love blue cheese dressing, I like to put the crumbles in a salad, back in my meat-eating days I was all about a blue cheese burger or hot wings and blue cheese dressing. But I never really DO anything with it. I just eat it as it is. I decided I needed to do something different with blue cheese.

My dear friend Ang, who is a Yankee I might add, was raving about this blue cheese grits recipe. There you go, other Yankees, some grits inspiration! She makes it with buffalo shrimp, but recommended that she thought it would be good with buffalo cauliflower. Say no more, I’m in! Cauliflower is a vegetarian’s best friend.

roasting cauliflower

My dear husband “doesn’t like grits” so I had to make some changes in quantity to make just enough for myself. I started by roasted 1/2 a head of cauliflower, chopped into florets, tossed in a little olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. I roasted that for about 25 minutes at 350°F. I then removed the cauliflower from the oven, returned to the bowl that I had added the olive oil and seasoning to, and poured some Texas Pete’s over the cauliflower. I then returned to the baking sheet and popped back in the oven for about 5 more minutes.

buffalo roasted cauliflower

While the cauliflower was roasting, I started to prepare the grits by adding water, half and half, salt, and pepper to a large skillet and bringing to a boil. I then added the grits, frequently whisking and allowing to thicken for about ten minutes.

I then added the cheddar cheese and whisked until melted. Once the cheese was melted, I turned off the heat and left the grits to sit for about 5 minutes before adding the butter.  Once the butter was added and well mixed, I added in the blue cheese crumbles and mixed.

bluec cheese grits

I served the grits with the roasted cauliflower on top and garnished with additional hot sauce and chives.

buffalo cauliflower blue cheese grits

I’m getting hungry just writing this post! This recipe is incredibly satisfying and the flavors got together so well. I want to make it all the time now. I’m forever grateful that Ang shared this recipe with me. One thing that’s really great about it is that you can fit it to your needs. Want seafood? Buffalo shrimp. Want poultry? Buffalo chicken. Want vegetarian? Buffalo cauliflower. Want it super spicy? Add extra hot sauce. Serve it as an entree or a side dish. It’s super flexible, super easy, and most importantly, super tasty.


Buffalo Cauliflower Blue Cheese Grits

Ingredients
serves 2

1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped into florets
olive oil
salt and pepper
hot sauce
3 cups water
1 cup half and half
1 cup instant grits
3/4 cup cheddar cheese
2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
2 oz blue cheese crumbles

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Prepare your cauliflower into chopped florets and toss in olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast for about 25 minutes.
  3. Remove the cauliflower from the oven and put back into the bowl that you originally seasoned in. Toss again in hot sauce, then return to the baking sheet and roast an additional 5 minutes.
  4. While the cauliflower is finishing up, prepare the grits. Add the water, cream, and salt and pepper to a large saucepan or skillet and bring to a boil. Add in the grits while frequently whisking until it thickens, about ten minutes.
  5. Stir in the cheddar cheese and whisk until melted.
  6. Remove the grits from the heat and let sit for five minutes. Then add the butter and whisk to mix.
  7. Add in the blue cheese crumbles and mix. Serve with buffalo cauliflower on top, add additional hot sauce and chives for garnish if desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “35. Unique Blue cheese dish

Leave a Reply

