46. Find a pomegranate and prep it myself

Preparing fresh pomegranate

There are a lot of fruits and vegetables on my resolution list that are really just on there for “first time use” reasons. Things I’ve perhaps eaten before (or maybe not!) but have never actually prepared before. You remember the artichokes from my previous article, right?

Resolution number 46 is a fruit that I have tried before, but only in the little cups they sell at the grocery store. Before today, I had never actually bought a whole pomegranate and prepped it myself. A few months back, I got one of those POM cups of pomegranate arils because it was on sale. It had been a really long time since I had tried them for the first time, so I was pleasantly reminded of how great they are. But I didn’t want to keep buying those cups because they are EXPENSIVE! $5 a piece! No thank you.

So I decided to add it to my list of resolutions and learn to prep one myself. There was one catch, I couldn’t find one. I searched Kroger, Publix, and my favorite farmer’s market and no one had them. It was only then that I discovered they were out of season. So I’ve been waiting. And this last time I went to the farmer’s market, they had them!!!! They were still kind of pricey, $3.99 a piece. So I just got one. Even though I really wanted two for photograph purposes. But alas, I’m ballin’ on a budget.

I had to figure out how to cut the fruit to remove the seeds, so I used this handy info graphic that I found on Pinterest.

pomegranate infographic
Photo credit

First, I cut the pomegranate in half across the middle.

pom6

Then, I submerged the halved pomegranate face down in a bowl of water, and attempted to pop the seeds out. The first half didn’t go super well, and I ended up just sort of manually popping the individual seeds out of the flesh of the fruit.

The second half went much better; I was able to sort of invert the fruit which allowed me to easily remove the seeds. I would also just like to say that the inside of a pomegranate is one of the most interesting things I have ever seen! I could not stop obsessing over all the perfect little nooks and crannies. I took a thousand photos. When science dorking meets food blog. But I won’t bore you with my thoughts on the structure of the pomegranate.

While popping all the seeds out, some of the white flesh of the fruit also comes off from time to time. So as I was popping the seeds out, I was letting them fall into the bowl of water. I then rinsed them all to be sure to remove all the peel and pieces of rind.

handful of pomegranate seeds

There you have it! Pomegranate seeds. I would say that this one pomegranate yielded approximately the same amount of seeds in those small POM cups you get from the grocery store. Honestly, now I’m seeing that those aren’t the worst deal in the world like I had once thought! If the fruit itself cost me $4, plus labor, I’d almost rather pay $5 for it already done. But this is a learning experience, right?! You better believe I’m buying up those prepared cups next time they go on sale, though. I ate a good portion of these and the rest I stored in an airtight container in the fridge. Well, for a few minutes until I realized I wanted to do something else with them.

I couldn’t just stop there and leave you with this boring entry on how to cut a piece of fruit. I wouldn’t do that to you. So I took it a step further and whipped up some white chocolate pomegranate almond scones!

These were pretty easy to make; my main tip here is to grate the butter into the flour to help incorporate it into the flour easier. If you have a fancy Kitchenaid mixer attachment that nicely mixes the butter into the flour for you, well then congratulations and must be nice. For the rest of us, taking just 2-3 minutes to grate your butter into the flour will do just fine! And if you don’t have a box grater, well then…you’ll just have to get down and dirty and cut the butter up into small pieces and then mush the it into the flour with your hands. Been there. The grating technique just makes this part a little bit easier than hand-mixing chunks of butter. You’ll find the recipe below! If you wanted to make these vegan, the only substitutions you would have to make would be to use Earth balance “butter” (or other vegan butter alternative), some aquafaba for the egg, and use a vegan friendly chocolate chip!

white chocolate pomegranate almond scones


 

White chocolate pomegranate almond scones

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. baking powder
3 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick), cold
1 cup pomegranate seeds
1 cup white chocolate chips
1/3 cup almond slivers
2 eggs
1/2 cup almond milk, plus a little additional to wash the scones before baking
sugar to sprinkle on top

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and sugar. Then grate the butter into the flour. Mix well with your hands, until it is coarse and crumbly.
  3. Add in the almonds and chocolate chips and mix to distribute evenly.
  4. Gently fold in the pomegranate seeds.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs and the almond milk.
  6. Add the egg and milk mixture to the flour mixture and stir to combine.
  7. On a well floured surface, knead the batter until it is combined.
  8. Transfer the batter to a greased baking sheet (or use parchment paper) and form into a circle, about 1/4 inch thick
  9. Cut the circle into 8 triangles and gently separate them.
  10. Wash the scones with a little almond milk before putting into the oven.
  11. Bake at 400°F for about 16-18 minutes, until the scones are golden brown.

 

Leave a Reply

