8. A good coleslaw that doesn’t taste like straight mayonnaise

I’ve always really liked coleslaw, but here in the South, more often than not, I find coleslaw to taste like mayonnaise. Which is unfortunate because I don’t like mayonnaise.  I had never really made it myself, so early on in developing my list I decided that I needed to try and make a coleslaw that wasn’t mayonnaise based and that was easy to make on a whim. I also wanted to try and come up with something that the picky husband would maybe eat.

So I have two coleslaw recipes to report for you! For the first one, I grated my own items. For coleslaw #2, I bought the pre-packaged broccoli slaw from Publix. I just wanted to compare time and effort spent with the overall success of how much I liked it.

Mayo-free coleslaw #1: Collard green, apple, parsnip, and carrot coleslaw

I mentioned to a coworker that I hadn’t really ever eaten collard greens before (sorry for this blasphemous anti-Southern statement) so she brought me some from her garden; she recommended making them into a salad, so I decided to shred them up and use them as the base for my coleslaw. I grated carrots, parsnips, and apple then drizzled with a light apple cider and olive oil dressing and some pumpkin seeds to top it off! This was excellent – perfectly crunchy with a great flavor. The apple/parsnip combination was really great. I saved a little bit of it to have for lunch the next day and it kept pretty well, too! Parsnips happen to be one of my husbands favorite vegetables, so this was a winning flavor combination for him… success! Even grating my own veggies, the work involved here was incredibly minimal – I had it whipped up in about five minutes.

coleslaw3

Collard Green Slaw with apples, carrots, and parsnips

Ingredients

1 apple
2 carrots
1 parsnip
3-4 small collard green leaves
apple cider vinegar (about 1/4 cup)
olive oil (about 1/8 cup)
salt and pepper
pumpkin seeds

Instructions

  1. Chop the collard greens into small, thin strips.
  2. Grate the apple, carrot, and parsnip into a large bowl. Add in the chopped collard greens.
  3. Dress the veggies with the apple cider vinegar and olive oil, adding salt and pepper to taste. Let sit for about 15-20 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle a handful of pumpkin seeds on top.

 


 

Mayo-free coleslaw #2: Spiralized beet and broccoli slaw coleslaw

beetslaw2

Recently I had a bit of an impulse buy at the Earth Fare grocery store across the street from my job, and I bought a box of already spiralized raw beet noodles. To be completely honest, I’m not a huge fan of beets. But I’ve recently been trying some spiralizing so they caught my eye and I bought them. Then I just had to figure out what to do with them. So I added them in with some store bought broccoli slaw, vinegar, and olive oil with some salt and pepper and some pumpkin seeds. I also diced a few pickled jalapenos and tossed those in too.

broccolislaw
My favorite store bought broccoli slaw

I think this was a perfect way to use the spiralized beets! The flavor was a great addition to the broccoli slaw, and also added the beautiful red color. They are, however, a deal breaker for picky husband so this coleslaw was not for him. And apparently I’m obsessed with pumpkin seeds, but I love the little bit of crunch they add to salads.

beetslaw

Spiralized beets with broccoli slaw coleslaw

Ingredients

1 package broccoli slaw (or feel free to prepare your own!)
2 cups spiralized beets
white vinegar
olive oil
2 Tbsp. diced pickled jalapenos
pumpkin seeds

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients together in a large bowl and let sit for 15-20 minutes. Then enjoy!

Lessons learned here:

  1. Coleslaw is SUPER easy to make, whether you buy you veggies already cut up or grate them yourself doesn’t make a huge difference. I guess it would if you’re making a HUGE batch. But otherwise, very minimal work.
  2. Pumpkin seeds are versatile and I add them to almost all my salads.
  3. Thought spiralizing veggies doesn’t change how they taste, it does make them look cool and therefore makes for a really pretty salad, especially in the case of beautiful red beets.
Leave a Reply

