43. Rosé cupcakes

rosecupcake3

SHOUT OUT TO MY FRIEND SARAH! She was so kind to offer to help me take some photos for the blog. So her magnificent work is featured in this post. Thanks, Sarah!!

I have to give credit where credit is due, and my friend Ashton definitely discovered the act of making rosé cupcakes a while back and tagged me in some Facebook video or something. I have since lost that initial link, but I did save the idea onto my resolution list right away, number 43.

The second giving of credit (apparently this is a very shout-out heavy post) certainly goes to my friend Ang, who I’m pretty sure bathes in champagne (or at least washes her hair in it), for making champagne a bigger part of my life.

Last shout out to my sister for helping me eat cupcakes and drink leftover rosé 🙂

Since I lost that link that Ashton sent me, I went on a hunt for a rosé cupcake recipe.  I found this one from Tastemade that seemed pretty great, so I went with it! With a few adaptations, of course. Because apparently I can’t just make a recipe. I’ll post the recipe with my changes below! But also, I didn’t go out into the world and search for rosewater. (Have you read my previous confessions on omitting vital ingredients?!)

akchampagne

So I followed the recipe below to make the cupcake batter, and then I separated it into three bowls. One bowl I left unaltered, just the yellow cake batter. In the second bowl, I added 1 drop of pink food coloring and mixed. In the third bowl, I added two drops of pink food coloring and mixed. I then lined my cupcake pan and layered the colored batter, yellow, light pink, and then bright pink. After the fact I realized that Tastemade did it the other way around, but I think it still turned out nice.

rosecupcake4

After baking, I let the cupcakes cool and prepared the icing. I used regular buttercream icing, and added streaks of pink food coloring to give it a bit of the streaky pink color. I had a mishap with the bag I used to pipe the icing onto the cupcakes, and ended up with a bit of a stained hand. (Update: it is still sort of pink many days later!) You can use your favorite buttercream icing recipe, or even buy some store bought if you prefer. Sprucing it up with the pink food coloring will make either one look really pretty. If you need a recipe for simple buttercream, see below!

foodcoloring

So at that point I scrapped the piping of the icing and just decided to ice the cupcakes rough. I then added little pearl sprinkles on top. 🙂

rosecupcake2

These cupcakes are ADORABLE. And they tasted amazing, too. They were some of the most moist cupcakes I have ever made, I was VERY happy with the consistency and the taste, which tasted like yellow cake with a little rosé zing.

Sarah was paid in cupcakes and champagne, so I would say that they were passable 🙂

The rest of the cupcakes were donated to my day-after sampling crew, AKA my coworkers.

rosecupcake

Lessons learned here:

  1. Food coloring will not only dye your food, but also your skin!
  2. Baking with rosé was incredibly fun and tasted great. Photographer, sister, husband, and coworker approved on the taste test (that’s a legit sample size!)

Rosé Cupcakes

adapted from Tastemade

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups rosé champagne
125 mL of canola oil
1 stick of butter, room temperature
2 Tbsp. sour cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
pink food coloring
pearl sprinkles
buttercream icing

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 365°F
  2. Combine dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt) in a large mixing bowl and distribute well
  3. Add the softened butter in small chunks. Mix into the dry mixture with your hands until it is well incorporated and a sand-like in consistency
  4. In a separate mixing bowl, combine the rosé, eggs, sour cream, canola oil, and vanilla extract. Mix well (the rosé will cause it to bubble up quite a bit!)
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well until no dry ingredients are seen. Scrap down the sides of the bowl and mix.
  6. Split the batter into three bowls. Leave one untouched. In the second bowl, add 1 drop of pink food coloring and mix. In the third bowl, add two drops of pink food coloring and mix.
  7. Put the cupcake liners in the cupcake pan and then add the batter. I started with the yellow (plain) batter, then added the light pink, then the bright pink. Fill about 3/4 of the way full.
  8. Bake the cupcakes for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick (or fork as I like to use) inserted comes out clean.  Let the cupcakes cool completely before icing.
  9. Drip some of the pink food coloring down the sides of your piping bag and then add the icing inside. A you squeeze it out, it will get a cool streaky coloring.  If you prefer to rough ice the cupcakes, just swirl a small amount of pink food coloring inside an empty bowl and then add your icing. Stir a little, but don’t completely incorporate the coloring, so that it keeps the streaky pink look.
  10. Add your pearl sprinkles.

AK’s Go-To Buttercream Icing

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) softened unsalted butter
4 cups powdered sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
1-2 Tbsp milk (heavy cream or half and half will work too, use what you’ve got)

  1. Use a mixer with whisk attachment to rough mix the sugar with the butter.
  2. Add the vanilla. Add milk 1 Tbsp. at a time. This is not an exact science, unfortunately.  Add milk until you get the icing just right.
  3. If you want chocolate buttercream, just add 3/4 cup cocoa powder and mix well.

Note: If you want WHITE icing (not butter colored), you need to use shortening. I have never done this before, but that’s the word on the street.

Leave a Reply

